First Time DUI/DWI in Virginia
Let a Virginia Beach DUI Attorney Fight For You!
Due to the severity of the penalties, being charged with a DUI/DWI for the first time can be an overwhelming and frightening experience. Not only are you facing time in jail and expensive fines, but a DUI conviction on your criminal record can potentially ruin your reputation.
First-Time DUI Penalties
Virginia law recognizes a first DUI offense as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a mandatory minimum fine of $250, but the fine can be as high as $2,500. If you are convicted with a BAC level under 0.15, you are not required to serve any jail time. However, if your BAC level was between 0.15 and 0.20 upon your arrest, the state law requires you to serve a minimum of five days in jail. If your BAC level is over 0.20, then it’s a minimum jail sentence of 10 days.
Your driver’s license will be administratively suspended for seven days upon your arrest. If you are convicted of a first time DUI, your license will be suspended for one year. However, first offenders may request a “restricted license,” which can be obtained by enrolling yourself in an alcohol counseling course through the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP). If you were arrested with a BAC at or over .15, you must use an ignition interlock device once your license is reinstated.
30+ Years' Experience On Your Side
If you have been arrested for a first time DUI, it’s imperative to retain legal representation from an experienced and reliable Virginia Beach criminal defense attorney. As Board Certified Criminal Trial Specialists by the National Board of Trial Advocacy, we are capable of using our extensive knowledge of the state laws to protect you from the harsh penalties you are up against.
Contact our firm and schedule a complimentary consultation today.