Arrested for a Third DUI in Virginia?
Experienced Virginia Beach DUI Lawyer
While being charged with a first or second DUI comes with significant consequences, a third or subsequent DUI conviction is associated with even more severe penalties. A third DUI is considered a felony, instead of a misdemeanor. Having a felony on your criminal record can make it difficult to take advantage of life’s opportunities, such as finding employment or buying a car or house.
Having experienced and skilled legal representation on your side can help you obtain the outcome you desire. As a former prosecutor, our attorney has an in-depth understanding of Virginia laws and court proceedings to help you get your charges reduced or your case thrown out entirely.
Third DUI Penalties
If you get convicted for a third DUI/DWI within ten years of your second DUI/DWI, it is considered a Class 6 felony with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 90 days. A Class felony is punishable by a prison sentence between one and five years and a fine of up to $1,000.
If you get convicted for a third DUI/DWI within five years of your second DUI/DWI, it is still considered a Class 6 felony. However, the mandatory minimum jail sentence is six months, instead of 90 days.
30+ Years of Experience On Your Side
At our firm, we won’t treat you as just another case number. Each case has its own unique circumstances that need thorough investigation, which we are willing to do in order to give you the justice you deserve. With more than 30 years of experience, we have helped countless of clients get their lives back on the right track.
Contact our firm and schedule your complimentary consultation with our expert Virginia Beach DUI attorney.